Steps on how to delete or deactivate your Apple ID

Apple had launch its website for data and privacy management earlier this year. The main purpose of this website is to allow users how they want to manage their account, they also have the option to download their account data. Along with many other features this website offers user an option to delete or deactivate your Apple account.

If, you would ask me I believe Apple is taking good care of its customers. There are several positive and negative views in the market regarding the recent launch. But, as far as my knowledge and experience in using the Apple products is concerned, I feel like the company is still dominating not just in terms of share, but also in terms of performance of the devices.

Now, since you have the option to either deactivate in case you want to use it in future or you can delete it permanently if it is not required anymore. We have shared the step-by-step guide to delete or deactivate your Apple ID.

How to delete Apple ID

  1. Open a web browser and go to ‘privacy.apple.com’ website.
  2. Login using your credentials by following the authentication process.
  3. Click on Continue on the Apple ID and Privacy page.
  4. Select Delete your account option and click on ‘Get started’ button.
  5. From the drop-down menu choose the reason behind your deleting the account and click on Continue button.
  6. Review your subscriptions and click Continue.
  7. If you are satisfied with Deletion Terms & Conditions, check off the box at the bottom the page and select Continue.
  8. Now, you have to choose the method to receive the account status updates. You can choose between your email ID used to create the Apple ID, a different email ID or your phone number.
  9. Click on continue button, after choosing one of the options.
  10. For future reference just print, Note down or download your access code.
  11. Enter the access code to confirm and Click on Continue button.
  12. Read all the important details and click on Delete account button to successfully delete your account in the end.

Once, you complete all the above steps, you will get a confirmation on the page with a message reading, “We are working on deleting your account.” This process can take up to seven days.

How to deactivate Apple account

  1. Open a web browser and go to ‘privacy.apple.com’ website.
  2. Login using your credentials by following the authentication process.
  3. Click on Continue on the Apple ID and Privacy page.
  4. Select Deactivate your account option and click on ‘Get started’ button.
  5. From the drop-down menu choose the reason behind your deactivating the account and click on Continue button.
  6. If you are satisfied with Deactivation Terms & Conditions, check off the box at the bottom the page and select Continue.
  7. Now, you have to choose the method to receive the account status updates. You can choose between your email ID used to create the Apple ID, a different email ID or your phone number.
  8. Click on continue button, after choosing one of the options.
  9. For future reference just print, Note down or download your access code.
  10. Enter the access code to confirm and Click on Continue button.
  11. Read all the important details and click on Deactivate account button to successfully deactivate your account in the end.

Once, you complete all the above steps, you will get a confirmation on the page with a message reading, “We are working on deleting your account.” This process can take up to seven days.

Before you proceed with steps to delete or deactivate your Apple ID, we have below recommendations.

Keep in Mind:

  • If, you choose to delete your account, the process is irreversible means you would not be able to retrieve any data from this account or same account cannot be activated again.
  • All the services linked to this account will be terminated.
  • All documents will be permanently deleted including your Photos and videos.
  • Although, even after deletion of account iMusic purchases will keep on working, but the DRM-free content from your iCloud Music Library will no longer be available.
  • Please download all your data stored in your iCloud, before deactivating your Apple ID.
  • After taking complete backup Sign out of your Apple account from all the linked devices.
  • Do not delete your Apple ID in case you want it in future, we would suggest to choose deactivate option.

You might also like our TUTEZONE section that contains exclusive articles on how you can improve your life using technology. Trust me, you will be glad that you paid a visit there.

Ranjit Ranjan

More than 11 years of experience in web development projects in countries such as US and India. Blogger by passion and SEO expert by profession.

Leave a Reply